Statement of Members of the Department of Political Science (IPW), University of Vienna on the attack on Israel

On October 7, 2023, the terrorist organization Hamas carried out an attack on southern Israel. The undersigned employees of the IPW strongly condemn this attack on civilians and express their solidarity with all those affected.

On October 7, 2023, 50 years after the Yom Kippur War, the terrorist organization Hamas, the Palestinian offshoot of the Muslim Brotherhood, carried out a barbaric attack on southern Israel and the civilians living there. Not since World War II and the Shoah have so many Jews been murdered in one day. Hamas and its allied terrorist organizations have once again shown that they translate their annihilatory anti-Semitism into action. People in the country are already talking about a pogrom. The undersigned employees of the Institute of Political Science (IPW) at the University of Vienna strongly condemn this unjustifiable barbarity against civilians, and expresses their solidarity with all those affected.

In particular, we think of our former and current Israeli and Jewish students and scholars who have families and friends in the country, as well as our Palestinian students and scholars and their families and friends who are also suffering under the terror of Hamas. We also think of the entire civilian population of the region, who now have to bear the consequences of Hamas' barbaric acts. We know that the Israeli military now has the enormous task of freeing the hostages captured by jihadist groups, preventing such events from happening again, and minimizing the suffering of innocent civilians. This is a task we do not wish on anyone. Respect for the International Law of War and the International Humanitarian Law must also be ensured in this situation. But as political scientists, we are fully on the side of democracy and the rule of law throughout the region.



Elias Weiss, BA MA – Universitätsassistent, CeSCoS

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Barbara Prainsack – Professur für vergleichende Politikfeldanalyse, CeSCoS

Ass.-Prof. Dr. Katharina Paul - Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Dr. Matthias Flatscher - Institut für Politikwissenschaft

PD Dr. Karin Liebhart - Institut für Politikwissenschaft 

Ivan Josipovic, BA, MA, MSc - Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Fabio Wolkenstein – Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oliver Marchart - Professur für Politische Theorie

Nora Hansl, BA MA - Institut für Politikwissenschaft 

Ass.-Prof.Mag.Dr. Josef Melchior - Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Dr. Eszter Kováts - Institut für Politikwissenschaft 

Madlyn Sauer, Dipl - Doktorandin, PREDEF 

Dr. Sergej Seitz - Institut für Politikwissenschaft, PREDEF

Dr. Anna Pichelstorfer - Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dorothee Bohle - Vergleichende Politikwissenschaft  / Ost&Südosteuropa

Dr. PD Gertrude Saxinger - Institut für Politikwissenschaft, CeSCoS

Rebekka Pflug - Univ.-Ass. Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Natalia Varabyeu Kancelova, BA MA - Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Caitlin Harjes, BA - Institut für Politikwissenschaft, CeSCoS

Dr. Katharina Kieslich - Institut für Politikwissenschaft, CeSCoS

Dr. Dmitrii M. Zhikharevich - Institut für Politikwissenschaft

Dominika Cyganik - Institut für Politikwissenschaft 

Dr. Mag. Magdalena Eitenberger, BA MA

Philipp Pflegerl - Doctoral Candidate, Dozent

Sara Gebh, PhD - Institut für Politikwissenschaft, PREDEF

Mag. Dr. Stephanie Graf, MA - Lehrbeauftragte am IPW

Maximilian Martin, BA, Institut für Politikwissenschaft